Side Menu
Timed Tickets at Virginia Living Museum ZooDonate to the Virginia Living Museum Calendar

Board Members

The Virginia Living Museum is governed by a board of elected and appointed trustees. Appointed trustees represent the Museum’s two founding organizations, the Warwick Rotary Club and the Junior League of Hampton Roads, plus the Newport News City Council and School Board, Hampton City Council and School Board, and young professionals.

Board of Trustees

Elected Trustees

Karen Velkey
Corporate Vice President of Compensation & Benefits, Huntington Ingalls Industries

Ashby Kilgore
Superintendent (Retired), Newport News Public Schools

Sarah Messersmith
Attorney, Kaufman and Canoles

Lewis Smith
Vice President, Finance, Bayport Credit Union

James C. Burnett
Vice President, CFO, W.M. Jordan Company, Inc.


William Austin
Senior Vice President & Chief Financial Officer, Riverside Health System

Rebecca S. Aman
Attorney, Jones, Blechman, Woltz & Kelly

Kevin Banks
Founder, CEO of Innovative Vision Technologies, Inc.

Herbert H. Bateman, Jr.
Executive Vice President, TowneBank

Leonard A. Bennett, Esquire
Founding Partner, Consumer Litigation Associates, P.C

Donald B. Brown
Wealth Management Advisor, Northwestern Mutual

James C. Burnett
Controller, W.M. Jordan Company, Inc.

Bryan Caccavale
Vice President, Supply Chain Management, Huntington Ingalls Industries

Micheal F. Carpenter
Development, Commercial Sales & Leasing; Drucker and Falk, LLC

Jarryd Carver
Dealer Principal, Winners Circle Automotive Group

Heather Duncan
Senior Director of Marketing and Community Engagement, Virginia Health System, Inc.

Melvin James Ferebee, Jr.
Director, Systems Analysis and Concepts NASA Langely Research Center

Rebecca Francese
Senior Environmental Scientist, Waterway Survey and Engineering, Ltd.

Bruce Hoogstraten
Implementation Manager, Faneuil

Ashby Kilgore
Retired Superintendent, NNPS

Cleon M. Long
Nuclear Engineer III, Shift Operations, Dominion Energy, Surry Power Station

Monty Mason
Senator, Senate of Virginia

Sarah Messersmith
Attorney, Kaufman & Canoles, P.C.

Ross A. Mugler
Commissioner of the Revenue, City of Hampton

Shawn E. Neighbor
Executive Director / Portfolio Management, Director Morgan Stanley Wealth Management

Michelle Price
Director of Public Information and Community Involvement, NNPS

Kenneth Radecki
Director, Facilities, Safety & Environment, Canon Virginia, Inc.

Lewis Smith
Vice President of Finance,  Bayport Credit Union 

Karen Velkey
Corporate VP or Compensation & Benefits, Hunting Ingalls Industries

Molly Joseph Ward
Treasurer, City of Hampton

Steve Whetstine
Partner, KPMG



Appointed Members

Hon. Shelly Simonds
NNPS School Board

Mr. Brian DeProfio, Assistant City Manager
City Manager’s Office, City of Hampton

Ms. Susan Goodwin
Director of Finance, City of Newport News

Mr. Jesse Hutcheson
Warwick at City Center Rotary

Ms. Lorraine Hall
Junior League of Hampton Roads

Ms. Rebecca A. Kleinhample, Executive Director
The Virginia Living Museum

Board of Advisors

Many former trustees continue to serve the museum in an advisory capacity.

Carolyn S. Abbitt
Chairman of the Board, Abbitt Realty & Abbitt Management

Randy Abbitt
CEO, National Exterminating, Inc.

Charles A. Banks III
Retired, Gloucester

Mari Ann Banks

John F. Biagas
CEO/President, Bay Electric Co., Inc.

Lois Bowman
Newport News

Thomas R. Brooks, C.P.A.
PBMares, LLP

William S. Brundage
CFO, Ferguson Enterprises

Jerri Fuller Dickseski
Executive Vice President, Communications, Huntington Ingalls Industries

William B. Downey
President/Chief Executive Officer, Riverside Health System

William R. Ermatinger
Corporate VP/Chief HR Officer, Huntington Ingalls Industries, Inc.

John H. Garrett III
Retired, Ferguson Enterprises, Inc.

John J. Gillespie, Jr.
Vice President of Marketing, American Standard Brands

Ralph M. Goldstein
Partner, Jones, Bleckman, Woltz & Kelly, P.C.

George R. Goodson, Jr.
Retired, Warwick Plumbing & Heating Corp.

Mary Sherwood Holt
Chair, Newport News

Lynn Hornsby

William D. Hoskins III
Retired, Merrill Lynch 

Katherine A. Howell
President/Creative Director, Howell Creative Group

Herbert V. Kelly, Jr.
Vice President & Director, Jones, Blechman, Woltz & Kelly, P.C.

John R. Lawson II
President and CEO, W.M. Jordan Company, Inc.

Jeffrey M. Luckman
President, Luckman Enterprises, LLC

Dr. John Q.A. Mattern II, D.O.
Virginia Oncology Associates

Jeffrey L. Mendelsohn
CEO, Virginia Health Services

Judy T. Morris
Retired, Newport News

Donald N. Patten
Partner, Patten, Wornom, Hatten & Diamnonstein, LLC

John F. Phillips
President, Phillips Energy, Inc.

Barbara J. Reynolds
Retired Senior Major Gift Officer, Indiana University School of Medicine

Conway H. Sheild III
Chairman, Jones, Blechman, Woltz & Kelly, P.C.

Brian K. Skinner
President, TowneBank Peninsula/Williamsburg

James B. Thomas, Jr.
Retired, Wolseley PLC

Joseph R. Witt
SEVP, Chief Business Development Officer, Old Point National Bank

Charles W. Wornom
President, Abbitt Realty Group, Inc.

Endowment Board of Advisors

Herbert V. Kelly, Jr.

Jeffrey L. Mendelsohn,

Charles R. Spencer, Jr.

Charles W. Wornom