Side Menu
Timed Tickets at Virginia Living Museum ZooDonate to the Virginia Living Museum Calendar


Virginia Living Museum Recognizes 2017 Sullivan Award Recipients

June 20, 2017

Virginia Living Museum Recognizes 2017 Sullivan Award Recipients

Acknowledges Service Milestone Employees

During the Virginia Living Museum’s 2017 Annual Meeting, Sullivan Awards were presented to four staff members for outstanding contributions to the museum.  The Sullivan Award is named after Bob Sullivan, former Executive Director, and is the Museum’s highest honor, recognizing leadership and commitment.

The Sullivan Award recipients included:

Terrie Gwyn, HR/Payroll Manager, for exemplary efforts leading the 2016-17 Employee Relations Committee.

Karl Rebenstorf, Aquarist, for outstanding leadership in developing a large “Bird of Prey” program, training staff members and volunteers, and stewarding positive business relationships.

Andrea Svendsen, Guest Services Director, for leading our Guest Experience Committee which is informing our Strategic Plan and driving highest standards for Guest Experience;

Rehn West, Assistant Development Director, for leadership of the Development Office and exemplary efforts during the Otter Ball, the Museum’s major fundraiser.

“Leadership at the Museum begins with passionately engaged staff members who recognize opportunities and work to overcome obstacles for mission growth,” said VLM Executive Director Rebecca Kleinhample. “I am privileged to work with Terrie, Karl, Andrea and Rehn,” she added.

Also recognized were staff members who reached benchmark years of service to the Museum:

Judy Molnar (30 years), Fred Farris and Dave Osman (25 years), Bill Johnson and Dan Summers (20 years), Kelly Herbst (15 years), Linda Addison, Carrie Bridgman, Debbie Hancock, Rebecca Kleinhample, Sarah Wilcox, and John Wright (10 years),  Chris Garrity, Matt Theisen, Amber Warren, Thomas Waser, and Scott Worth (5 years).

The Virginia Living Museum is a non-profit 501(c) 3 museum and education center whose mission is connecting people to nature through educational experiences that promote conservation.

For more information call 757-595-1900 or visit


Photo attached of Sullivan award winners (l-r:  Terrie Gwyn, Karl Rebenstorf, Rehn West, Andrea Svendsen)

No Comment

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.